You are invited to the virtual Ubuntu Masters event

The Ubuntu Masters Conference is a platform for IT practitioners to share how they are solving industry-wide challenges with the global engineering community. These are the real-life use cases they are executing in their professional environments today, giving you actionable ideas to take into your own corporate setting.

Join us on Thursday 30th April to hear these technical deep-dive discussions, interact with the speakers, and access resources to help kick you off these ideas in your own organisation.

<Register>

Here is what our keynote speakers will discuss:

11:45 am EDT/4:45 pm BST – Over the past year the Roblox Traffic Engineering team has been planning a migration to open source load balancing. The goal is to provide an infinitely scalable, globally available, high performance solution. The rollout of this solution was supposed to happen over the course of a year. However, due to Covid-19 Roblox needed to scale up rapidly to meet the extra demand of their user base. With much of the world under quarantine, children are turning to Roblox to fill their time. Hear  how Roblox scaled years worth of player growth in just one week.

<Register>

1:00 pm EDT/6:00 pm BST – Sean Kelly, Senior Software Engineer at ifm, will give an introductory look at how the rise of distributed and edge computing has enhanced computer vision and sensor fusion workloads. We’ll take a look at some typical system architecture design choices, discuss their advantages and disadvantages, and have a look at some practical examples of deploying perception solutions to edge devices using ROS2 on an ifm O3D303 time-of-flight depth camera.

<Register>

2:15 pm EDT/7:15 pm BST – Joshua McClintock, MTS, Systems Design Engineering at T-Mobile, will talk about design considerations when implementing MAAS as the foundation of a bare metal self-service offering in a large enterprise. Examples he will discuss include translating tickets to APIs, humans to computers and doing more with less.

<Register>

Attendees are invited to register for sessions individually or can participate in the full event. Sessions will be made available on-demand following the live event on 30 April.

Check out sessions from our inaugural Ubuntu Masters Conference, which featured sessions about Extended BPF, scaling and delivering applications with high performance and low friction and migrating from Windows to Linux for container orchestration.

<Register for Ubuntu Masters Digital Conference>


About: Blog